Using Directional Lighting in Soap Photography

For those of you that know me or at least follow me know I love photography.  After spending countless hours in search of good lightening I finally spent the money on a good lighting kit from B&H Photo.  I thought I would share with you what I think! So below are the two lighting kits I purchased.

Impact Two-Light Shooting Tent Kit – 18 x 18″ and a Impact Mini-Boom One-Light Floodlight Kit

photosetup1 (800x533)

First I want to say how well packed it was when it arrived.  The bulbs were in their containers and then wrapped in bubble wrap. I love bhphotovideo.com.  Class act for sure.  This particular light kit was very easy to put together.  Basically screwing the ceramic housing on the stands and attaching the reflectors.

After trying to take the photos with all the lights on at the same time and noticing that my photos were a little washed out. I tried the directional lighting technique, turned off  all the lights except for one.  What amazes me most is that I took this same shot by a window (painstaking I might add and limited to the time of day) and now I can simulate daylight.  So now I don’t have to worried about what time I need to photograph my soaps or whether it’s cloudy outside or not.

photosetup2b (800x533)

Stay tuned to the next post when I try out the photo tent for white background photography to use in your online store.

2 thoughts on “Using Directional Lighting in Soap Photography

    • Village- Thank you for posting! Yes, it can get expensive but having the right tools to do the job is plus. Not always necessary when you start out but you will need them eventually. You do have some GREAT hobbies, two where you can be creative and one to be active =). Very cool!

      Like

Leave a Reply

